top of page
Search

Blog #1: About Me

Hi I am Saria Bosschart, I am 19 years old. Since I can remember I have used art to help me through life in the forms of communication, expression, and escape from reality when needed. My world of imagination has never been a rigid one, and continues to expand as I am exposed to new and different forms of art every day. Growing up with a Waldorf education allowed me to develop a wide range of skills, and knowledge for art that I appreciate so deeply now, I have chosen a major in which I am allowed to express my artistic ideas in the form of design.

Made entirely and solely of cardboard
The Abracadabra Chair

 

Environmental Design allows me to combine almost all the mediums of art that I have practiced such as sketching, painting, and sculpture, to model building and graphic design, and apply them in a way that can help the world around us both economically and ecologically. I find it fascinating that art can be used as a hobby but can also be applied to the big picture and actually solve major economic issues that the earth is facing.




As an artist and designer, I think it is so important to recognize that all of the issues we face can be solved through design. I can not wait to someday be able to change the projected damage that climate change will bring us in the near future.





This past year, my hometown of Chico, California faced serious flood and fire damage. Graphically I was able to express my ideas on how to reduce the post flood and fire damages and improve the harsh effects that these natural disasters would have on the community. I think this is another great example that demonstrates how art can become design and vice versa.


 




Pablo Picasso


I believe that most artists are also designers in a different form. We have the ability to be creative with our ideas and and invent new ideas and concepts with pour hands and mind. Almost anything can be deemed as art and I find that fact to be incredible because art gives so much freedom and flexibility to each individual that interacts with it.





 

Original design intervention on CU Boulder's East Campus
The Study Pod

As an artist and Environmental Designer I think it is so important to utilize natural materials and limit the amount of waste that goes into the design process. Growing up in the mountains really allowed me to appreciate the raw beauty of nature and that knowledge has definitely influenced where I am in my career today.




12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page